COUNTY OF CHISAGO

**BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS** 

Chisago County Government Center 313 North Main Street, Room 172 Center City, MN 55012-9663

Phone: 651-213-0451 • FAX: 651-213-0454

John Moosey County Administrator Commissioners: District 1 Lynn Schultz District 2 Rick Olseen District 3 Bob Gustafson District 4 Ben Montzka District 5 Mike Robinson

Commissioner Olseen offered the following resolution and moved its adoption:

## RESOLUTION NO. 050119-3 ADOPTION OF RULES ESTABLISHING THE PREVAILING WAGE RATE AS DEFINED IN MINN. STAT. § 177.42 AS A MINIMUM STANDARD OF WAGES ON ANY CHISAGO COUNTY CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT

WHEREAS, Minn. Stat. § 471.345, subdivision 7, provides that a County may adopt rules or ordinances which establish the prevailing wage rate as defined by Minn. Stat. § 177.42 as a minimum standard of wages for a contractor's employees which must be agreed to by any contractor before the contractor may be awarded a contract for the funding of labor, materials, supplies, or services; and

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry regularly certifies prevailing wage rates effective in Chisago County for job classifications relevant to commercial, highway and heavy construction; and

**WHEREAS,** the Chisago County Board of Commissioners deems that it is in Chisago County's and the public interest that public contracts be awarded to contractors who compensate employees at the prevailing wage rate;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that prior to the award of any Chisago County construction contract, the cost of which is estimated to exceed \$100,000, the contractors shall agree that the contractor's employees and any subcontractor's employees who fall within any job classification established and published by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry shall be paid, at a minimum, the prevailing wage rates as certified by said Department.

Commissioner Robinson seconded the resolution and upon a vote being taken thereon, the following voted: **IN FAVOR THEREOF:** Montzka, Schultz, Gustafson, Olseen, Robinson **OPPOSED:** None

Whereupon the resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Adopted: January 19, 2005

Bob Gustafson, Chair

Attest:

DeAnna M. Lilienthal Clerk, County Board